Cookie Crunch Layer Cake

Shakin' and Bakin'

Like all little children, my brother is obsessed with the “Little bit of Trouble” sandwich cookies from Toll House.  Except, my brother is not a little child; in fact, he just turned 21.  So, for his birthday cake I was inspired by cookie sandwiches and decided to make a cookie layer cake.

 I created three layers: the top and bottom are chocolate chip and the middle is a chocolate cookie with white chocolate chips.  In between the layers is a vanilla buttercream.  I found, from this recipe, that using cold butter instead of room temperature when baking cookies is definitely the way to go.  It keeps the cookies chewy inside and keeps them from baking flat.

 Recipe

  • Wilton Cookies and Cream Crunch Sprinkles 

Chocolate Chip Cookie (S/O Mrs. Field’s Recipe) 

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup dark brown sugar (firmly packed)

View original post 508 more words

