Stencilling Furniture

The Vintage Sunflower

I finished this piece well before Christmas and am just now blogging about it!   Sometimes life and illness get in the way.

1w-vintage-shabby-dresser-before

I bought this piece from someone I know who had good intentions of refinishing it but she never got to it.  It had been painted with several layers of paint-brown, green and white. The white was some kind of shiny lacquer paint that was horrible to sand through but as usual, Sunflower Husband sanded it for me!

20161010_151150

Once it was sanded, I stained the top with General Finishes Java Gel Stain 1/2 Pint and sealed it with Polyvine Wax Finish Varnish Dead Flat Pint / 500ml.

The next step was to give it a couple of coats of Ball Jar Blue paint from Heirloom Traditions. I aged it using 80 grit sandpaper.

dscf6106

Once that was finished, it was time for the stencilling.  I was fortunate to…

View original post 208 more words

Leave a Reply

