Fen – Daisy Johnson (June 2016)

Crispreads

I’ve been dipping in and out of this book since July, not because I haven’t enjoyed it but more because I wanted to make it last as long as I possibly could. This collection of short stories really was fantastic and I have no problem in saying I’m incredibly jealous of Daisy Johnson’s talents.

wp-1474922883674.jpg

Each of the stories is set in the marshy Fenland of East Anglia and perfectly poses a flickering of reality more bizarre than the last. Introducing multiple female protagonists in various circumstances and experiences of life, the collection is haunted by natural figures, animated spaces and the sicknesses of the human condition.

The stories are all intriguing in their own right but rather than write about them all, I’ll just be touching on two of my favorites.

The first is titled ‘A BRUISE THE SHAPE AND SIZE OF A DOOR HANDLE’. This story centers around Salma after she moves in to her father’s house and begins…

View original post 600 more words

Leave a Reply

